The CIRG is established as consultative group to provide strategic advice and expertise to assist WALGA in the development and implementation of effective advocacy and policy in community development and social policy on behalf, and for the benefit, of the Local Government Sector.

The formation of the Community Industry Reference Group was endorsed by WALGA State Council in May 2019. The group consists of Local Government Directors and Managers in the field of community development. 

To view the Terms of Reference, click here

The CIRG opened nominations for members in 2022, with new members joining from the Shire of Shark Bay, Shire of Mt Magnet, Shire of Harvey, Shire of Perenjori and the City of Kwinana. Read more about the members here.
The membership of the group includes:

Kylie Johnson City of Perth
Mark Bishop City of Swan
Gail Bowman City of Cockburn
Michael Holland City of Rockingham
Natalie Martin-Goode Town of Victoria Park
Arron Minchin (Chair) City of Karratha
Debbie Terelinck City of Wanneroo
Jude Thomas City of Mandurah
Christine Young City of Melville
Tralee Cable Shire of Mt Magnet
Nola Comerford-Smith Shire Perenjori
Garry Fisher City of Kwinana
Deborah Wilkes Shire of Shark Bay
Kirstie Davis Shire of Harvey

For more information about CIRG, email