WALGA State Council is the decision making representative body of all Member Councils, who are responsible for sector-wide policy making and strategic planning on behalf of Local Government.

State Council Structure

  • Chaired by the WALGA President
  • 24 Members (State Councillors): 12 from country constituencies and 12 from metropolitan constituencies
  • Members must be a serving Mayor, President or Councillor in a WA Local Government

WALGA President 

WALGA President, Northern Country Zone President Cr Karen Chappel JP

State Councillors

Avon-Midland Country Zone Cr Ken Seymour
Central Country Zone President Cr Phil Blight
Central Metropolitan Zone Cr Paul Kelly (WALGA Deputy President)
Cr Helen Sadler
East Metropolitan Zone Cr Catherine Ehrhardt
Cr John Daw
Goldfields Esperance Country Zone President Cr Laurene Bonza
Gascoyne Country Zone President Cr Cheryl Cowell
Great Eastern Country Zone President Cr Stephen Strange
Great Southern Country Zone President Cr Chris Pavlovich
Kimberley Country Zone Cr Chris Mitchell JP
Murchison Country Zone Cr Les Price
Northern Country Zone President Cr Moira Girando JP
North Metropolitan Zone Cr Russ Fishwick JP
Mayor Mark Irwin
Cr Frank Cvitan JP
Peel Country Zone President Cr Michelle Rich
Pilbara Country Zone Mayor Peter Long
South East Metropolitan Zone Cr Carl Celedin
Mayor Ruth Butterfield
South Metropolitan Zone Mayor Logan Howlett JP
Cr Doug Thompson
Mayor Carol Adams OAM
South West Country Zone President Cr Tony Dean
Ex Officios  
Local Government Professionals State President Ms Annie Riordan
The Rt Hon Lord Mayor City of Perth Lord Mayor Basil Zempilas