Regional Climate Alliance Program Overview

The Regional Climate Alliance Program aims to support Local Governments in Western Australia to take action on climate change, energy and sustainability through regional partnerships.

The Program is an initiative under the State Government’s Western Australian Climate Policy, and the Department of Water and Environmental Regulation (DWER) has partnered with WALGA to administer the Program. DWER has made $420,000 available for the Regional Climate Alliance Program. Program funding is supporting the employment of a Regional Climate Alliance Coordinator within each of the two Alliances established. Funding is also available to the Alliances to deliver climate adaptation and mitigation projects through a competitive grant process.

Successful Regional Climate Alliances

In 2021, two Regional Climate Alliances were selected to participate in the Regional Climate Alliance Program. The two successful Alliances are:
Goldfields Voluntary Regional Organisation of Councils (GVROC) Shire of Coolgardie
Shire of Dundas
Shire of Esperance
City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Shire of Laverton
Shire of Leonora
Shire of Menzies
Shire of Ngaanyatjarraku
Shire of Wiluna                                                           
South Coast Alliance (SCA) City of Albany
Shire of Denmark
Shire of Jerramungup
Shire of Plantagenet


A total of $100,000 was available for Round 1 of the Regional Climate Alliance Program to support the two Alliances in delivering projects to reduce carbon emissions. Round 2 of the project funding will provide an additional $100,000 to support project delivery, with this Round set to open in October 2022.


Over 2022-2023 the Regional Climate Alliances will undertake on-ground projects to deliver outcomes against their regional priorities. As outcomes from these projects are delivered, further details will be provided.


For more information about the Program, email or call Jade Mains, Senior Policy Advisor, Environment on (08) 9213 2027.