Committees and Reference Groups

WALGA is a leading voice for Local Government in Western Australia. As such, our emergency management team are involved in a range of working groups, committees and stakeholder reference groups to raise issues on behalf of the sector. State Government agencies and other peak bodies also approach WALGA directly for involvement to inform policy and legislative change.

WALGA is a member of a number of State-level committees including:

  • State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC)
  • Interagency Bushfire Operations Committee (IBOC)
  • Bushfire Operations Committee (BOC)
  • State Bushfire Advisory Committees (SBAC)

WALGA is also a key stakeholder in Emergency Services Levy (ESL) and Local Government Grants Scheme (LGGS) matters and discussions on existing and proposed grant funding opportunities.

Local Government Emergency Management Advisory Group (LGEMAG)

The LGEMAG has been around for over 10 years supporting WALGA’s advocacy and providing a mechanism to consider and respond to sector-wide issues.

The membership currently consists of representatives in a range of roles from the following Local Governments:

  • City of Armadale
  • Shire of Ashburton
  • Shire of Capel
  • City of Cockburn
  • Shire of Dundas
  • City of Greater Geraldton
  • City of Karratha
  • Shire of Lake Grace
  • Shire of Moora
  • Shire of Mundaring
  • City of Perth
  • City of Rockingham
  • Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale
  • City of Stirling
  • Shire of Victoria Plains
Swipe right to view more

At the last LGEMAG meeting in February 2024, members received presentations and provided feedback on:

  • DFES Volunteer Induction Training 
  • Total Fire Ban procedures
  • WALGA Emergency Management key activity updates
advisory group

Become a member of LGEMAG

Get in touch if you’d like further information or to express your interest in becoming a LGEMAG member.

Back to of the page