The annual Local Government Honours Program recognises and celebrates the outstanding achievements and lasting contributions made by Elected Members and employees to their respective Councils, the Local Government sector, WALGA and the wider community.

Nominations for the 2023 Honours Program are now open!

Nominations for the 2023 Honours Program are now open and will close at 5:00pm on Friday, 9 June.

Member Local Governments and State Councillors are invited to submit nominations using the form below.

2023 Honours Nomination Form

There are six awards in the 2023 Program:

  1. Local Government Medal
  2. Life Membership
  3. Eminent Service Award
  4. Merit Award
  5. Local Government Distinguished Officer Award
  6. Troy Pickard Young Achievers Award
For further details about each of the above awards including the selection criteria and nomination process, please refer to the Program Policy.

The Brochure from last year's Honours Program may provide an indication as to the type of information required to support each nomination.

Important Notes

  • Details about the Honours Panel, including the current membership and operational procedures, can be found in the Terms of Reference.
  • Any nominations received after the closing date will not be accepted or considered by the Honours Panel. 

For further enquiries or more information, please contact Kathy Robertson, Executive Officer Governance on (08) 9213 2036 or email