More than 40 West Australian Councils have signed up to immediately move to 100% renewable energy for their contestable supply.

A landmark agreement with Synergy has been taken up by 48 Local Governments, 43 of which plan to go to 100% renewable at the contract commencement in April, with the remainder to transition over three years.

Developed by the WA Local Government Association, with the invaluable support of a sector steering group comprising senior officers, the agreement sources all renewable energy locally from wind farms at Albany and Emu Downs and Collgar wind farm.

WALGA Acting President Cr Karen Chappel said the initial three-year agreement for an estimated $85 million and involving 48 WA Local Governments eclipses a similar project by 46 Victorian Councils.

Cr Chappel said significantly the WA initiative is the first renewable and carbon aggregation project approved by the by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission and provides scope for the sector to develop additional green energy projects such as electric fleet and carbon sequestration.    

“There was overwhelming enthusiasm from Local Governments to shift to renewable energy which has been driven by the attitudes and ambitions of their communities,” Cr Chappel said.

“That so many Councils have decided to immediately take up the 100% renewable option is outstanding and shows that the sector is leading the way.

“Certainly there is the environmental benefits of the agreement, but also there is a financial benefit as we have advice that since terms were secured by WALGA, market rates have already increased by at least twenty-five per cent.”

The Local Governments signed up to the agreement are the:
Cities of Albany, Armadale, Bayswater, Bunbury, Busselton, Canning, Cockburn, Fremantle, Gosnells, Greater Geraldton, Joondalup, Kalamunda, Kwinana, Mandurah, Melville, Nedlands, Rockingham, South Perth, Stirling, Subiaco, Swan, Vincent and Wanneroo.
Towns of Bassendean, Cambridge, Claremont, Cottesloe, East Fremantle, Mosman Park and Victoria Park. 
Shires of Augusta Margaret River, Boyup Brook, Donnybrook-Balingup, Harvey, Manjimup, Morawa, Mundaring, Murray, Northam, Peppermint Grove, Plantagenet, Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Dandaragan and Bridgetown-Greenbushes.
Along with the Eastern Metropolitan Regional Council, Mindarie Regional Council and Southern Metropolitan Regional Council.