National Awards for Local Government now open

Published on:
Tuesday, 20 February, 2024
WALGA updates

The National Awards for Local Government (National Awards) are an annual celebration of Local Government achievements in Australia. The National Awards highlight initiatives implemented by Local Governments that are innovative, make a difference to their local communities, display excellence, and have outcomes that are replicable across the country.

Following the nomination entry period, councils have the opportunity to recognise the work and achievements of their peers in the local government sector, through an open voting system to determine the 2024 National Award winners. Voting will be open to the public.

2024 National Awards

Entries must be submitted online at 

All elected Local Government organisations, Local Government associations and other recognised organisations that provide direct services to Australian communities are eligible to enter an initiative.

Key Dates in 2024

Milestone Date
Entries open 12 February 2024
Entries close 18 March 2024
Voting opens 19 March 2024
Voting closes 26 April 2024
Winners announced  June 2024


For further information, including eligibility and entry requirements, click here.

Share This Page
Back to of the page