Three long-term contributors to excellence in the WA Local Government sector have been named on the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Mr Michael Foley was honoured with an Order of Australia Medal (OAM) in the General Division for his services to Local Government after a career spanning 39 years with 14 as the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) at the City of Swan.

Mr Foley started his career as a civil engineer with Main Roads WA in 1972. He commenced at the then Shire of Swan as a Construction Engineer in 1981, progressing to being appointed CEO in 2006, retiring in 2020.

Amongst his many achievements, he was recognised by his peers as a leader in Local Government road safety.

Mr David Lavell was also awarded the OAM in the General Division for his service to the community of Mundaring. Mr Lavell was first elected as a Shire of Mundaring Councillor in 2001, serving separate terms, and retiring in 2021 during which time he also served as President from 2015 to 2017. In recognition of his service, Mr Lavell received a WA Local Government Association (WALGA) Merit Award in 2017.

Former State Government MLA for the seat of Gascoyne, and former Shire of Carnarvon President Mr Dudley Maslen, was recognised for his service to the Carnarvon region also receiving an OAM in the General Division.

WA Local Government Association (WALGA) President Cr Karen Chappel congratulated and commended the recipients on their prestigious awards.

“So often the outstanding achievements by Local Governments, by both elected members and officers, goes unseen and un-heralded,” President Chappel said.

“So many go above and beyond their call of duty for the greater good of their communities, so it is pleasing to see Messrs Foley, Lavell and Maslen receive these well-deserved accolades for their dedicated service.”