Four Local Governments were recognised today for their commitment to improving road safety outcomes in their communities.

The Cities of Albany, Bunbury and Rockingham and the Shire of Narembeen received Local Government Road Safety Awards, presented at the WA Local Government Association Annual General Meeting.

A joint initiative of WALGA’s RoadWise and the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (WA), the Awards acknowledge outstanding achievements by Local Governments in the area of road safety and recognise innovation in engineering countermeasures contributing to safe system implementation, along with local road safety partnerships and champions.

In congratulating the 2021 award recipients, WALGA President Mayor Tracey Roberts praised all four Local Governments for their strong partnership approach.

“Our four winning projects this year include strong local partnerships and community ownership, as well as evidence-driven approaches,” Mayor Roberts said.

“As a sector, today we celebrate not only our award winners but the ongoing contributions of all Local Governments as we work towards our long-term vision of a road transport system where crashes resulting in death or serious injury are virtually eliminated.”

Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (WA) President Gavin Harris commended this year’s award recipients and acknowledged the role of Local Government in improving road safety outcomes.

“Local Governments continue to refine their role as both system designers and road managers, through the implementation of new and innovative road treatments and projects which aim to prioritise the safety of all road users,” Mr Harris said.

“We know the way forward is through the creation of a safe system; we also know this cannot be achieved by any one sphere of government, agency or road user group alone.”

The 2021 Local Government Road Safety Award recipients are: 
  • The Safe System Approach – Road Infrastructure Improvement Award, presented to the City of Albany for their Middleton Beach Cycle Connectivity project.
  • The Safe System Approach – Complementary Initiatives Award, presented to the the City of Bunbury for the Don’t Trust Your Tired Self South West Driver Fatigue project.
  • The Safe System Approach – Local Road Safety Partnerships Award (Regional), presented to the Shire of Narembeen for their SOCK – Save Our Country Kids project.
  • The Safe System Approach – Local Road Safety Partnerships Award (Metropolitan), presented to to the City of Rockingham for their Road Safety Action Plan 2019-2022.
  • The Joe North Award for significant and outstanding contribution to road safety, presented to Franz Winkler in recognition of his passion and his tireless efforts to improve road safety outcomes through advocacy, training and mentorship.
For more information about the 2021 Local Government Road Safety Awards, visit the RoadWise website at