Former Kalgoorlie-Boulder Mayor Ron Yuryevich has been recognised for his ongoing commitment to Local Government with a Local Government Medal.
The highest honour in the WA Local Government Association’s honours program, the Medal is bestowed upon those providing exceptional service in advancing the goals of WALGA and Local Government as well as the personal contribution given in pursuit of benefits for the community.
WALGA President Cr Lynne Craigie congratulated Mr Yuryevich on his award and his many achievements across his 20 years’ service in the sector.
“Ron has made an invaluable contribution to the sector and to the regions through his role as Mayor and his position on many committees and boards, including our own WALGA State Council and the Local Government Advisory Board,” Cr Craigie said.
“He has always maintained strong support for regional Western Australia and made sure country interests are heard, with one example being his outstanding contribution to the review of Regional Development Commissions.”
Cr Craigie said Mr Yuryevich’s experience and knowledge were further recognised in his being appointed as a Commissioner to many Councils including the City of Greater Geraldton and Shires of Wiluna, Ashburton and Narrogin.
“Mr Yuryevich has created a true legacy, as his impact upon the sector will go beyond the 20 years in which he has directly served and we thank him greatly for all he has done for the sector and communities across the State”, she said.
In addition to the Local Government Medal, Life Membership was awarded to Cr Ken Clements, President at the Shire of Plantagenet.
Cr Craigie congratulated Cr Clements on the membership, saying he was highly regarded both in and outside the sector for his governance skills and excellent negotiation and lobbying abilities.
“Cr Clements has managed to deliver benefits to both the community of Plantagenet and the wider region, particularly in the areas of transport and development and is highly deserving of life membership to WALGA.”
Mr Yuryevich and Cr Clements were among 47 Local Government Elected Members and Chief Executive Officers who received a Local Government Honours Award, announced as part of the 2016 WA Local Government Convention.
Held by the WA Local Government Association, the annual Convention attracts almost 700 representatives from Local Government across the State.
“These awards acknowledge the efforts of some extraordinary individuals within the Local Government sector, many of whom have dedicated a large part of their lives to serving the community,” Cr Craigie said.
“They are truly committed to creating a positive future for Western Australia and I am pleased to highlight their commitment and achievements.”
A full list of Local Government Honours Award recipients follows.

Local Government Medal
Ron Yuryevich AM RFD, ex City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Life Membership
Cr Ken Clements, President, Shire of Plantagenet
Eminent Service
Ashley Dowden, ex Shire of Mount Magnet
Cr Mark Halleen, President,  Shire of Murchison
Cr David Michael, City of Stirling
Darryl Richards, ex Shire of Quairading
Joanne Trezona, CEO, Shire of Broomehill-Tambellup
Distinguished Officer Awards
Mr Michael Parker, CEO, Shire of   Harvey
Dr Shayne Silcox PSM, CEO, City of Melville
Long and Loyal Service
Cr Kevin Allen, City of Cockburn
Cr Michelle Bagley, President, Shire of Mingenew
Julie Bavin, ex Shire of Quairading
Kevin Brand, ex Shire of Mount Magnet
  Long and Loyal cont.
Anthony Burrows, ex Shire of Meekatharra
Cr Laurie Butler, President, Shire of Perenjori
Ross Montague Collins OAM, ex Shire of   Upper Gascoyne
Cathy Crosby, ex Shire of Kent
Bernie Dawson, ex Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Jill Duncan, ex Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
Cr Sue Etherington, Shire of Plantagenet
Eddie Garner, ex Shire of Wyalkatchem 
Cr Charles Gilbert, Shire of Nannup
Cr Don Hammarquist, Shire of Upper Gascoyne
Clive Hawksley, ex Shire of Quairading
Cr Donald Heasman, Shire of Bruce Rock
Cr Ken Hooper, President, Shire of Merredin
Cr Merle Isbister ASM OAM, Shire of Carnamah
Cr James Joseph Kelly, Shire of Victoria Plains
Chris King, ex Shire of Perenjori
Sandra Manley, ex Shire of Capel
Peter McCabe, ex Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup
  Long and Loyal cont.
Cr Lachlan McTaggart, President, Shire of Upper Gascoyne
David Robinson, ex Shire of Upper Gascoyne
Cr Lorraine Thomas, Shire of Ashburton
Local Government Merit
Bruce Altham, ex Shire of Kent
Cr Scott Arbuckle, City of Subiaco
Cr Mark Crees, Shire of Merredin
Cr Lee Hemsley, City of Subiaco
Kevin Hepworth, ex Shire of Irwin
Mayor Kelly Howlett, Town of Port Hedland
Cr Peter Humphrey, Shire of Chapman Valley
Cr Julie Matheson, City of Subiaco
Cr Stephanie Proud, City of Stirling
Rodney Stokes, ex Shire of Tammin
Cr Stephanie Stroud, City of Subiaco
Tom Tuffin, ex City of Busselton
Ross Winzer, ex Shire of Exmouth