Shire of Collie Deputy President, Cr Ian Miffling has been awarded an Order of Australia Medal – one of Australia’s highest Honours – as part of the Queen’s Birthday Honours List yesterday.

Recognised for his service to Local Government and the community of Collie over the course of 52 years, Cr Miffling was first employed as the Shire’s Junior Clerk in 1968 and served as Shire Clerk, then CEO between 1988 and 2006.

After retiring from his role as CEO, Cr Miffling was successfully elected as a Councillor in 2007 and in 2014 was awarded an Eminent Service Award as part of the WALGA Honours program.

WALGA President, Mayor Tracey Roberts congratulated Cr Miffling for receiving the prestigious commendation.

“Cr Miffling absolutely deserves the honour in recognition of his long and dedicated service to his local community, first as an officer and then an Elected Member,” Mayor Roberts said. 

“His passion and contribution for the community is evident from his endeavour to make Collie a more vibrant community, both economically and socially.”

Former Shire President of Murray, Noel Nancarrow also received the Order of Australia Medal for his service to the Murray community. 

A former WALGA Peel Zone chair, Mr Nancarrow received the Distinguished Service Award at the WALGA Honours in 2009. He was also bestowed the title of an Honorary Freeman at the Shire of Murray.