More than 40 years’ service across administrative and governance roles has seen Joondalup Deputy Mayor Russel Fishwick receive Life Membership to the WA Local Government Association.
Cr Fishwick received the award at WALGA’s Annual General Meeting alongside 22 other Local Government Elected Members and Officers as part of the Association’s honours program.
Also at the AGM, WALGA President Mayor Tracey Roberts, Local Government Minister the Hon John Carey MLA and LG Pro President Jamie Parry signed the Partners in Government Agreement formalising a commitment between the two spheres of government.
WALGA President Mayor Tracey Roberts congratulated Cr Fishwick on the membership, saying his exceptional and long serving career had benefited both the sector and local communities.
“In addition to the many initiatives Cr Fishwick has helped to bring about in his local community at Joondalup, he has made an important contribution his administrative roles and was instrumental in drafting amendments to the regulations to improve the postal voting system,” she said.
“As a WALGA State Councillor since 2015, he also represents the sector on the Local Government Advisory Board and has served on the State Crime Prevention Council and State Graffiti Taskforce.”
“Cr Fishwick has given immeasurable service to communities across the metropolitan sector and we thank him for his ongoing contribution.”
Mayor Roberts congratulated all award recipients, highlighting their role as dedicated community leaders.
“I am delighted to acknowledge the services of this group of exemplary leaders who have all played a significant part in creating the communities that we are all proud of across Western Australia,” she said.
“I am continually inspired by the quality of local leadership we have across all our WA communities, and I thank our award recipients for their vision, their service and their compassion for others.”
“These awards recognise the leaders who, through many years of hard work and personal commitment, created communities that thrive and prosper, even in the face of global adversity,” Mayor Roberts said.
A full list of Local Government Honours Award recipients follows:

Life Membership
Cr Russel Fishwick JP, City of Joondalup
Eminent Service Award
President Leigh Ballard, Shire of Narrogin
Mayor Gary Brennan, City of Bunbury
Cr Rhonda Cole, President, Shire of Narembeen
Cr Noel Dew, Shire of Waroona
Cr Ian Dolton, Shire of Bruce Rock
Mayor Dennis Wellington, City of Albany
Long and Loyal Service Award
Cr Claire Anderson, Town of Victoria Park
Cr Ross Chappell, Shire of Lake Grace
Cr Peter Craig, President, Shire of Leonora
Cr Rodney Duckworth, Shire of Kulin
Cr Ray Hammond, City of Albany
Cr Jorgen Jensen, President, Shire of Mt Magnet
Cr David Lovelock, Shire of Victoria Plains
Mr John Salerian, ex Shire of Waroona
Cr Larry Scott,   Shire of Waroona
Cr Sandy Stock-Standen, Shire of Northampton
Cr Robert Sutton, City of Albany
Cr Mike Walmsley, President, Shire of Waroona 
Merit Award
Cr Evette Smeathers, City of Karratha
Mr Craig Wright, ex Shire of Waroona
Local Government Distinguished Officer Award
Mr Neville Hale, ex Shire of Tammin
Mrs Barbara Powell, City of Kwinana