Shire of East Pilbara President Cr Lynne Craigie OAM has been recognised for her exceptional service to the Local Government sector with a Local Government Medal.

The highest honour in the WA Local Government Association’s honours program, the Medal is bestowed upon those providing exceptional service in advancing the goals of WALGA and Local Government as well as the personal contribution given in pursuit of benefits for the community.

WALGA President Mayor Tracey Roberts congratulated Cr Craigie on her award and her many achievements across her 17 years’ service in the sector.

“Lynne is widely acknowledged and respected for her collaborative, engaging and inclusive leadership style, and has been an inspiration to many Elected Members throughout her service at both the Shire of East Pilbara and WALGA,” Mayor Roberts said.

“As the WALGA President, she was instrumental in numerous advocacy and organisational achievements, including negotiations for a new agreement with the State on shared vehicle licence revenues and rejuvenation of the State Local Government Partnership agreement.”

Mayor Roberts said Cr Craigie’s contribution to the sector received a prestigious commendation in 2019 with a Medal of the Order of Australia and WALGA is proud to award her their highest honour in the Local Government Medal.

“Cr Craigie has a passion for her community and has been a stalwart of the Local Government sector,” she said.

“She has worked tirelessly to unite the sector and drive positive projects and programs as a proactive community representative.

“We thank her for what she has done for the East Pilbara region and the entire sector.”

Cr Craigie was among the 31 Local Government Elected Members and Local Government Officers who received a Local Government Honours Award, announced as part of the 2020 WALGA Annual General Meeting.

“These awards recognise the leaders who, through many years of hard work and personal commitment, created communities that thrive and prosper, even in the face of global adversity,” Mayor Roberts said.  

A full list of Local Government Honours Award recipients follows:

Local Government Medal
President Cr Lynne Craigie OAM, Shire of East Pilbara

Eminent Service Award
Cr Frank Cvitan JP, City of Wanneroo
Mayor Barry Sammels, City of Rockingham
Cr Olwen Searle JP, City of Gosnells
Norm Trenfield, ex Shire of Meekatharra

Long and Loyal Service Award
Cr David Boothman JP, City of Stirling
Karl Brandenburg, ex Shire of Carnarvon
Brian Caporn, ex Shire of Quairading
Ian (Sam) Collard, ex Shire of Gingin
Cr Peter Denton, Shire of Cranbrook
Cr Peter Feasey, City of Kwinana
Ray Harrington OAM, ex Shire of West Arthur
Geraldine Hinkley, ex Shire of Wickepin
Cr Shelley Hmeljak, Shire of Gnowangerup
Douglas Kelly, ex Shire of Cunderdin
Cr Philip Matsumoto, Shire of Broome
Michael Meredith, ex Shire of West Arthur
Cr Stephanie Proud JP, City of Stirling
Cr Joy Stewart, City of Rockingham

Merit Award
Cr Karen Caddy, City of Stirling
Cr Joe Ferrante, City of Stirling
Lynn Fisher, ex Shire of Mundaring
Mayor Mark Irwin, City of Stirling
Cr David Lagan, City of Stirling
John McCallum, ex City of Busselton
Kim Mills, ex Shire of Brookton
Cr Keith Sargent, City of Stirling
Coralie Tarbotton, ex City of Busselton

Local Government Distinguished Officer Award
John Beaton, City of Stirling
Jim Epis, Shire of Leonora
Gail Ipsen Cutts, Shire of Manjimup