Three Local Governments and one community member have been recognised for their contribution to road safety through initiatives including engineering, driver behaviour and community partnerships at today’s WA Transport and Roads Forum.

The Local Government Road Safety Awards, a joint initiative of WALGA’s RoadWise Program and the Institute of Public Works and Engineering Australasia – Western Australia Inc., were presented by the Road Safety Minister, Hon. Liza Harvey MLA to highlight road safety efforts being made by Local Governments around the State.

Award winners were recognised for their contribution to the Towards Zero road safety strategy to reduce road trauma in Western Australia 2008-2020, through local community road safety projects and events.

The Award categories are aligned with Towards Zero and recognise projects that have provided engineering and/or strategic solutions based on one of the four cornerstones of the safe system approach as well as recognising local road safety champions.

WALGA President, Cr Lynne Craigie said the Awards provided a valuable opportunity to acknowledge those in the sector working to make road safety a priority issue in their community.

“The recipients of the 2016 Local Government Road Safety Awards have demonstrated great leadership in delivering projects with road safety benefits for the community,” Cr Craigie said.

“By embracing the safe system approach, these Local Governments and many others are ensuring the Towards Zero strategy is being effectively implemented across the State and they are to be congratulated for their contributions.”

The Award recipients are:

Safe Roads and Roadsides Category: The Sarkis Petrossian Award
-    Highly Commended: City of Wanneroo for their Traffic Treatments on San Rosa Road project
-    Award recipient: City of Albany for their Lower Denmark Road, Roundhay Road, Allerton Road intersection upgrade project.

Safe Speeds category
-    Award recipient: City of Wanneroo for their School Speed Limits project.

Safe Road Use category
-    Metropolitan Award recipient: City of Wanneroo for their Driver Reviver Program.
-    Rural Award recipient: Shire of Esperance for their Esperance ‘Slow Down and Enjoy the Ride’ campaign.

Joe North Award
-    Highly Commended: Fred Nancarrow for 21 years dedicated to road safety through the City of Armadale RoadWise Committee.

To find out more about the Local Government Road Safety Awards, visit the RoadWise website here