Two Local Government Regional Climate Alliances (RCAs) will receive an additional $100,000 from the WA State Government for projects to reduce carbon emissions.

The Goldfields Voluntary Regional Organisation of Councils (GVROC) – consisting of nine Local Governments – and the South Coast Alliance (SCA) – an alliance of four Local Governments – will use the money for two important projects.

The SCA’s ‘Future Proofing the South Coast Through Sustainable Building Design’ project will assess council buildings and facilities to identify cost-effective emissions reduction measures such as installing renewable energy or retrofitting buildings to increase energy efficiency.

GVROC’s ‘Carbon Emissions Baseline Study’ project will identify emissions sources for member Local Governments, promote emissions reporting and monitoring tools, and support the prioritisation of new investments. 

WALGA President Karen Chappel said both groups were pursuing ambitious work programs to transition their communities and economies to lower carbon emissions and a more climate resilient future.
“WALGA congratulates both of the Alliances in providing leadership within their communities, which builds on the great work of other Local Governments throughout WA that are transitioning to a low carbon future,” she said.

“Communities throughout the State expect their Councils to take action on climate change and Local Governments are doing just that with tangible, practical, cost effective measures to reduce emissions.
“WALGA looks forward to continuing to support the Alliances through project delivery as part of the Regional Climate Alliance Pilot Program.”

The Regional Climate Alliance Program was created when WALGA partnered with the Department of Water and Environment Regulation and the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries in 2021.  
The aim of the Program is to support Local Governments to take action on climate change, energy and sustainability through regional partnerships.

More information can be found at:

GVROC – an alliance consisting of the City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder and Shires of Coolgardie, Dundas, Esperance, Laverton, Leonora, Menzies, Ngaanyatjarraku and Wiluna.

SCA – an alliance made up of the City of Albany and Shires of Denmark, Jerramungup and Plantagenet.
For an interview with WALGA President Karen Chappel contact:  Graham Mason, WALGA Media & Communications Manager on 0448 896 435 or