Local Governments possess a high level of expertise in disability service provision and have policies and processes in place to promote and increase access and participation.

The key pieces of legislation that impact on the provision of accessible information, services and facilities for people with disability include the Disability Services Act 1993, the WA Equal Opportunity Act 1984 and the Disability Discrimination Act 1992. Australia was also one of the first signatories to the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disability on 30 March 2007.

Disability Access and Inclusion Plans (DAIP’s)

Western Australian Local Governments have a legislative requirement under the Disability Services Act 1993 to develop and implement a Disability Access and Inclusion Plan (DAIP). The DAIP’s assist Local Governments to plan and implement improvements to access and inclusion across seven outcome areas;

  • Services and events
  • Buildings and facilities
  • Information
  • Quality of service
  • Complaints
  • Consultation processes, and
  • Employment.

Under the Disability Services Act, Local Governments are required to report on the progress of their DAIP's, as well as include a submission regarding DAIP implementation in their Annual Report.
For further information on Local Governments DAIP requirements, visit the Disability Services website.

Access and Inclusion Forum 2019

On Thursday, 29 August 2019 WALGA hosted an event Creating Accessible and Inclusive Communities: How We Can Work Better Together.

Below are useful links from the day: