WALGA State Council is the decision making representative body of all Member Councils, who are responsible for sector-wide policy making and strategic planning on behalf of Local Government.

State Council Structure

  • Chaired by the President
  • 24 Members ('State Councillors'): 12 from country constituencies and 12 from metropolitan constituencies
  • Members must be a serving Mayor, President or Councillor in a WA Local Government
  • The current policy teams and committees will be available soon

State Councillors

WALGA President President Cr Lynne Craigie OAM
Avon-Midland Country Zone Cr Jan Court JP
Central Country Zone President Cr Phil Blight
Central Metropolitan Zone Cr Paul Kelly
Cr Jenna Ledgerwood
East Metropolitan Zone Cr Brooke O'Donnell
Cr Kate Driver
Goldfields Esperance Country Zone President Cr Malcolm Cullen
Gascoyne Country Zone President Cr Cheryl Cowell
Great Eastern Country Zone President Cr Stephen Strange
Great Southern Country Zone President Cr Keith House JP
Kimberley Country Zone Cr Chris Mitchell JP
Murchison Country Zone Cr Les Price
North Metropolitan Zone Cr Russ Fishwick JP
Cr Giovanni Italiano JP
Mayor Tracey Roberts JP (Deputy President)
Northern Country Zone President Cr Karen Chappel JP
Peel Country Zone President Cr Michelle Rich
Pilbara Country Zone President Cr Kerry White
South East Metropolitan Zone Cr Julie Brown
Cr Brian Oliver
South Metropolitan Zone Mayor Logan Howlett JP
Cr Doug Thompson
Mayor Carol Adams OAM
South West Country Zone President Cr Tony Dean
Ex Officio  
Local Government Professionals State President Mr Ian Cowie PSM